Feeling Alone?

It’s been awhile, I know. The world has changed and it has become a very foreign landscape. In case you are feeling alone, I want you to know that you are not alone. I am right here with you.

I wrote a poem to express my feelings. It’s been so long that I almost forgot I am a poet. I almost forgot that when my feelings are all bottled up inside, poetry is my outlet.

Enjoy. Share your thoughts. Talk to you soon!

As we look at the biggest change in our generation

Can we say that it’s true or more an amplification

Are we looking at what’s real

Or is this a political deal

People dying on Medicare

And we looking like we don’t care

Wear a mask or don’t wear one

A selfish pride that we come from

Been alone for way too long

Got more time now than I can rely on

Seeing strife everywhere

Black lives matter

But we acting like we don’t care

Sending out bullets that don’t return

Trying to act like we won’t get burned

Been seeing it all

And can’t take it in

It’s like the sixties all over again

I’m ready to shed this skin

COVID-19

Got me on lockdown

Floods and fires

Got me all turned around

Can’t find peace in the space

Cuz there ain’t no space in this waste

Wanna run , wanna find freedom

Got new sneakers and nowhere to take them

All alone in this haven

Starting to wish I had the wings of a Phoenix

Gotta let God see if He can fix this

Cuz there ain’t no love in this existence

Leave a comment