The Joshua Stone by James Barney – A Book Review

James Barney is a new author to my book collection. However, he is not a new author.  He has also written The Genesis Key and I plan to read this book, as well. Because Joshua is one of my favorite Biblical characters, the title immediately caught my attention.  I needed to know if the title had any connection to the Joshua of the Bible.  I picked up the book, scanned the blurb on the back cover, and saw the words “biblical mystery.”  I had found my answer. I read the blurb again, from the beginning, and discovered that two detectives had to “work together to solve a biblical mystery that has confounded scholars for centuries.”  Hmm, I thought.  This might be a good read.  Since I love Biblical mysteries and enjoy a good thriller, I decided to purchase the book.

 

The Joshua Stone1

I discovered that Barney is an excellent writer.  I say this because he never drops the plot.  The book is action-packed from beginning to end.  I couldn’t put it down!  Although the story plot is a work of fiction, it so believable, I found myself asking the question “What if..?” over and over again.  He created a very intriguing plot with equally believable characters.  He built the characters quickly, yet poignantly, and threw me right into the action.

This is the kind of book that deserves a second read, not because you miss something or don’t understand something the first time, but because once you understand the big picture, you will want to read it again.

Without giving the story away, I’ll say James Barney created a scenario that could actually happen, if there was any truth to the mysterious power he has placed upon the Joshua stone. This stone, when united with other stones of its kind, will cause an unstoppable chain reaction that could affect the entire world!  I believed it! So without further adieu, I gave this book 5 Stars for its incredible imagination, its well-written content, its riveting plot line, and its tasteful development.

4 thoughts on “The Joshua Stone by James Barney – A Book Review

    • Ha ha. True true. My Goodreads list says I have 17 books on my “to-read” list. I’ve got a long way to go.
      I hope you enjoy The Joshua Stone. I also hope you are feeling better from the last time we spoke.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

