Four Blood Moons by John Hagee

Image

Rating: 4 Stars

I read this book because of my interest in books on bible prophecy.  I have never read anything by John Hagee, but I did do a little research on him before I read this book.  After learning that his book, Jerusalem Countdown, was a New York Times Bestseller and he is the pastor of a nondenominational church in Texas, I decided Four Blood Moons might be worth reading.

So that this book review is fair, you will need to know that I am a Christian.  However, I have a healthy skepticism for well-meaning people who interpret Bible prophecy.  After all, it is a topic that has caused great debate in the scientific and theological community.

I read this book with an open mind and enthusiasm for John Hagee’s interpretation of the floor blood moons that occur between April 2014 and September 2015.onebloodmoon

The book was well-written and easy to follow.  Hagee explains why he decided to write the book, the events that took place, and the amount of research that caused him to feel this book was necessary. I could almost feel his excitement as he stumbled upon information that caused him to believe God is sending a message to all of us.

For those of us who are familiar with the New Testament, but have not read the Old Testament, this book provides detailed information on how God used the sun, moon, stars, and time to get a message to the Israelites.  We are all familiar with the star that appeared in the sky at the time of Jesus’ birth.  Most Christians are aware that this star led the three wise men to Bethlehem.

However, there are many events in the Old Testament, where God shows that He is in complete control of the cosmos.  Hagee explains these events in Four Blood Moons and refers to thespecific biblical passages where these events occurred.. There is much to learn if you are not familiar with the Old Testament books. We know of Moses parting the Red Sea and we know of The Flood.  Does anyone know that Joshua stopped time?  Does anyone know that God reversed time for Hezekiah?  If you don’t know these stories, you will definitely want to read them after you’ve read Four Blood Moons. If you are already familiar with these events, they will provide the necessary background for Hagee’s conviction that something is about to change during the course of the four blood moons occurring between 2014 and 2015.

fourbloodmoondatesAlthough Hagee’s conviction relies on Biblical scripture, he also provides historical and astronomical proof that something is going to happen, based on the past three Tetrads. He has provided a substantial list of references for further reading on the subject.

John Hagee will give you an enormous amount of Biblical scripture and world history to support his conviction that the four blood moons occurring between 2014 and 2015 symbolize a major change is about to occur .  He accomplishes this by explaining events that occurred in Israel at the time of three other Tetrads. Theses Tetrads occurred from 1493-1494, 1949-1950, and 1967-1968.  A Tetrad is defined as four total full lunar eclipses. An interesting aspect of the Tetrad that occurs between 2014 and 2015 is that a solar eclipse occurs between the first two blood moons and the last two blood moons!

pasttretradsOverall, the book was very interesting and I learned a few things about Jewish history.  Unlike other prophecy books that I have read, Hagee didn’t say the world will end on a specific day.  He doesn’t even suggest that the world will end.  However, he firmly believes that something will change in this coming year.

I agree with John Hagee on one thing – something is about to change. Will this change revolve around the Jewish people?  Will this be a world event? Who knows?  Only time will tell.  Jesus says specifically in Matthew 13:32 – “But of that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but the Father alone. 33“Take heed, keep on the alert; for you do not know when the appointed time will come.…”

 

2 thoughts on “Four Blood Moons by John Hagee

  1. I guess that the best way to judge a prophecy is by seeing what unfolds … As for the day to day life of faith, it’s a walk we learn more about each day, looking to keep our hearts and minds focused on bringing glory to God by the way we love one another.

    The book sounds fascinating. I’m currently working my way through the bible ‘in a year’ (even though it’s taken me seventeen months to reach Jeremiah and Paul’s letters to the Thessalonians!) and I find the Old Testament a fascinating place to spend time.

    Like

    • I started doing that too! I am currently in the Old Testament, as I want to read it from the beginning to end. I have to admit, I’ve skipped days, but I am still determined to finish it.
      I have been interested in all kinds of prophecies from the Mayans to Bible prophecy, since 1999. One of my books (as yet, incomplete) revolves around the Sumerian civilization and theories related to them.

      Glad you stopped by to read my review. I am very deep into Strong As Death right now. I’m biting my nails all they way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

