It’s All About Writing!

20140304-025908.jpg

Hi there fellow bloggers!  I hope that you are doing well and living the dream – the writing dream, that is!

I am currently 16,683 words into the great American novel and I am having a blast!  I have developed one of the more sinister characters for this book.  He is the antagonist!  In fact, his name is Sinister (although I may change his name down the road).

In this book, everyone’s name serves a purpose. This is deliberate and something I learned during one of my short story courses when I was in college. I learned that every word matters.  Every adjective serves a purpose.  All the hidden details of the story are hidden in the adjectives.  So in my story, everybody has a name that means something to me and hopefully, my readers will learn to appreciate my style and mysterious messages.

The main character in my story is a female protagonist.  Her name is Destiny and I call her that for two reasons.  The first reason is quite obvious.  Destiny, by definition, is “the predetermined, usually inevitable or irresistible, course of events” (Dictionary.com).

The second reason is more personal.  When I lived in Florida, I met a little girl whose name is Destiny. She is 12 years old now.  She’s a wonderful girl with an enormous imagination.  I tutored her for a few months, learned a lot about her, and grew very fond of her.  During that time, I showed her pieces of my novel.  Quite frankly, she didn’t believe that she shared the same name as my main character. I had to prove it to her, so I showed her my manuscript.  She became excited and told me that she loved dragons too!  Well, I promised Destiny that I would not change the name of my main character and that every time I wrote that name, I would be thinking of her.  So there you have it.  Destiny!

What’s in your style of writing?  Do you have something special in your personal life that you’ve indoctrinated into your writings? I’d love to hear from you.

Until next time, write on!

2 thoughts on “It’s All About Writing!

  1. I love this!! So much thought and meaning into your writing and that is something I will take with me too. Every word has a purpose. That’s important and it’s true. Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

